National Book Foundation Announces Its “5 Under 35” List

September 12, 2013

5U35medallionIn its eighth year, the National Book Foundation’s 5 Under 35 list honors five young fiction writers who are selected by past NBA Winners and Finalists. The program, introduced in 2006, has presented a new generation of writers including Téa Obreht, Karen Russell, and Justin Torres. The Foundation offers the 5 Under 35 authors a cash award of $1,000 each which is donated by The 2013 5 Under 35 honorees’ books include a mix of short story collections and novels and, for the first time, the group of authors are all women.

Molly Antopol, The UnAmericans
Selected by Jesmyn Ward, National Book Award Winner in 2011 for Salvage the Bones
Molly Antopol lives in San Francisco. She is a recent Stegner Fellow and current Jones Lecturer at Stanford University. She is also writer-in-residence at the Summer Literary Seminars in Lithuania. She received her MFA from Columbia University, and her writing has appeared or is forthcoming on NPR’s This American Life and in One Story, Ecotone, Glimmer Train, American Short Fiction, Mississippi Review Prize Stories, and elsewhere. She also reviews books for the San Francisco Chronicle. The UnAmericans is her first story collection and will be published by W.W. Norton & Company in February, 2014.

NoViolet Bulawayo, We Need New Names
Selected by Junot Díaz, National Book Award Finalist in 2012 for This is How You Lose Her
NoViolet Bulawayo was born and raised in Zimbabwe and now lives in the United States, where she is a Stegner Fellow at Stanford University. She earned her MFA at Cornell University, where she was recognized with a Truman Capote Fellowship. She won the 2011 Caine Prize for African Writing and her work has been published in numerous anthologies, Boston Review, Callaloo, and Newsweek. Bulawayo’s first novel, We Need New Names, is shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize.

Amanda Coplin, The Orchardist
Selected by Louise Erdrich, National Book Award Winner in 2012 for The Round House
Amanda Coplin was born in Wenatchee, Washington. She received her BA from the University of Oregon and MFA from the University of Minnesota. A recipient of residencies from the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, Massachusetts and Writers Omi at Ledig House in Ghent, New York, she currently resides in Portland, Oregon. The Orchardist is her first novel.

Daisy Hildyard, Hunters in the Snow, (Jonathan Cape, Random House UK, 2013)
Selected by Kevin Powers, National Book Award Finalist in 2012 for The Yellow Birds
Daisy Hildyard was born in Yorkshire, England and currently lives in London, where she is studying for a PhD on scientific language. She graduated from St Edmund Hall, a college of Oxford University, with a First.. Hunters in the Snow is her first novel.

CaptureMerritt Tierce, Love Me Back, (Doubleday, fall 2014)
Selected by Ben Fountain, National Book Award Finalist in 2012 for Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk
Merritt Tierce was born and raised in Texas. She received her MFA in fiction writing from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, where she was named a Meta Rosenberg Fellow. In 2011, she was a recipient of a Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Award. Her first published story, “Suck It,” was anthologized in the 2008 New Stories from the South, edited by ZZ Packer. Her work will also be featured in the forthcoming collection, Dallas Noir, edited by David Hale Smith. Tierce lives near Dallas with her husband and children. Love Me Back is her first novel, and will be published by Doubleday in 2014.