Julian Barnes Wins 2011 Man Booker Prize

October 19, 2011

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2011 was won, finally, by Julian Barnes for The Sense Of An Ending, published by Jonathon Cape.  Three of Barnes’ eight previous novels,  Flaubert’s Parrot, England, England, and Arthur and George, were also shortlisted for The Man Booker Prize. Barnes satisfaction at finally winning is boosted by the $78,500 that comes with the prize, not to mention the bounce of sales his book(s) will get from the award.

From the publisher:
A truly wonderful novel that will have the reader immersed in the story from the very first page, and all the while marvelling at the precision of Barnes’ prose. Tony Webster and his clique first met Adrian Finn at school. Sex-hungry and book-hungry, they would navigate the girl-less sixth form together, trading in affectations, in-jokes, rumour and wit. Maybe Adrian was a little more serious than the others, certainly more intelligent, but they all swore to stay friends for life. Now Tony is in middle age. He’s had a career and a single marriage, a calm divorce. He’s certainly never tried to hurt anybody. Memory, though, is imperfect. It can always throw up surprises, as a lawyer’s letter is about to prove. The Sense of an Ending is the story of one man coming to terms with the mutable past. Laced with trademark precision, dexterity and insight, it is the work of one of the world’s most distinguished writers.

The other shortlisted books were:

Jamrach’s Menagerie by Carol Birch
The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt
Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan 
Pigeon English by Stephen Kelman
Snowdrops by A D Miller