2011 Edgar Awards For Best Mystery Announced

May 4, 2011

Earlier this year Mystery Writers of America  announced its nominees for the 2011 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television published or produced in 2010. The Edgars are widely acknowledged to be the most prestigious awards in the genre. The winners were announced last week.

Click on the book titles to navigate to the Essex Library catalog and place a hold.

Best Novel WinnerThe Lock Artist by Steve Hamilton

Other Best Novel Nominees:

Caught by Harlan Coben

Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin

Faithful Place by Tana French

The Queen of Patpong by Timothy Hallinan

I’d Know You Anywhere by Laura Lippman

Best First Novel By An American Author WinnerRogue Island by Bruce DeSilva

Other Best First Novel Nominees:

The Poacher’s Son by Paul Doiron

The Serialist: A Novel by David Gordon

Galveston by Nic Pizzolatto

Snow Angels by James Thompson

Best Fact Crime Winner : Scoreboard, Baby: A Story of College Football, Crime and Complicity by Ken Armstrong and Nick Perry

Other Best Fact Crime Nominees:

The Eyes of Willie McGee: A Tragedy of Race, Sex, and Secrets in Jim Crow South by Alex Heard

Finding Chandra: A True Washington Murder Mystery by Sari Horwitz and Scott Higham

Hellhound on his Trail: The Stalking of Martin Luther King, Jr and the International Hunt for his Assassin by Hampton Sides

The Killer of Little Shepherds: A True Crime Story and the Birth of Forensic Science by Douglas Starr

Best Critical/Biographical Winner : Charlie Chan: The Untold Story of the Honorable Detective and his Rendevouz with American History by Yunte Huang

The Wire: Truth Be Told by Rafael Alvarez

Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks: Fifty Years of Mysteries in the Making by John Curran

Sherlock Holmes for Dummies by Steven Doyle and David A. Crowder

Thrillers: 100 Must Reads edited by David Morrell and Hank Wagner