2010’s Best Children’s and Young Adult Books

January 12, 2011

America’s most prestigious awards in children’s literature–the Newbery and Caldecott Medals, were presented on January 10th at the American Library Association’s midwinter meeting in San Diego, California. The Michael L. Printz Award honoring excellence in literature written for young adults was also announced.

The Newbery Medal is awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. The Newbery Medal winner is Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool.  Twelve-year-old Abilene Tucker is the daughter of a drifter who, in the summer of 1936, sends her to stay with an old friend in Manifest, Kansas, where he grew up, and where she hopes to find out some things about his past.

Four Newbery Honor Books were also announced:

Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night by Joyce Sidman

Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. The Caldecott winner is A Sick Day for Amos McGee illustrated by Erin E. Stead, written by Philip C. Stead. Friends come in all sorts of shapes and sizes. In zookeeper Amos McGee’s case, all sorts of species, too! Every day he spends a little bit of time with each of his friends at the zoo, running races with the tortoise, keeping the shy penguin company, and even reading bedtime stories to the owl. But when Amos is too sick to make it to the zoo, his animal friends decide it’s time they returned the favor.

Two Caldecott Honor Books were also announced:

Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Laban Carrick Hill

Interrupting Chicken written and illustrated by David Ezra Stein

The Printz Award winner is Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi.
In Ship Breaker, near a drowned New Orleans ravaged by hurricanes and global warming, Nailer and his young crew eke out a meager existence by scavenging materials on the ship-littered coast. “This taut, suspenseful novel is a relentless adventure story featuring nuanced characters in thought-provoking conflicts. Bacigalupi artfully intertwines themes of loyalty, family, friendship, trust and love,” said Printz Award Committee Chair Erin Downey Howerton.

Four Printz Honor Books were also presented:

Stolen by Lucy Christopher

Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King

Revolver written by Marcus Sedgwick

Nothing written by Janne Teller