2010 National Book Award Winners Announced

November 18, 2010

On March 15, 1950, a consortium of book publishing groups sponsored the first annual National Book Awards Ceremony and Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City. Their goal was to enhance the public’s awareness of exceptional books written by fellow Americans, and to increase the popularity of reading in general.

Since then, The National Book Awards have become the nation’s preeminent literary prizes, and The National Book Awards Ceremony and Dinner the most important event on our literary calendar. Today, the Awards are given to recognize achievements in four genres: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature. The Winners, selected by five-member, independent judging panels for each genre, receive a $10,000 cash award and a crystal sculpture.

The 2010 NBA Awards were presented last night and the winners are:

Fiction: Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon

Nonfiction: Just Kids by Patti Smith

Poetry: Lighthead by Terrance Hayes

Young people’s literature: Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine

Lifetime achievement award: Tom Wolfe