This Year’s Best Humor

August 27, 2010

Started in 1997, the Thurber Prize for American Humor is the only recognition of the art of humor writing in the United States. A panel of national judges selects the three finalists from a selection of seven or eight semi-finalists. Books submitted for a prize year had to have been published the prior year.

The winner is announced at a special awards ceremony at the Algonquin Hotel in New York City where James Thurber once lived. The winner of the prize receives $5,000.

Previous winners:
1997: Ian Frazier, Coyote v. Acme
1999: The editorial staff of the satirical magazine The Onion for Our Dumb Century
2001: David Sedaris, Me Talk Pretty One Day
2004: Christopher Buckley, No Way to Treat a First Lady
2005: Jon Stewart, Ben Karlin and David Javerbaum for America (The Book): A Citizen’s Guide to Democracy Inaction
2006: Alan Zweibel, The Other Shulman
2007: Joe Keenan, My Lucky Star
2008: Larry Doyle, I Love You, Beth Cooper
2009: Ian Frasier, Lamentations of the Father

This year’s nominees:

Why Is My Mother Getting A Tattoo? By Jancee Dunn

How I Became a Famous Novelist by Steve Hely

Mennonite in a Black Dress by Rhoda Janzen