Financial Times Best Business Book Of The Year Longlist Announced

August 10, 2010

The longlist was announced yesterday for the Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award. The Award, which is in its sixth year, aims to identify the book providing the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues. Entries were invited from publishers of business books in the English language first published between 31st October 2009 and 15th November 2010.

The books on the longlist are:

The End of the Free Market: Who Wins the War Between States and Corporations? by Ian Bremmer

How Markets Fail: The Logic of Economic Calamities by John Cassidy

Circle of Greed: The Spectacular Rise and Fall of the Lawyer Who Brought Corporate America to Its Knees by Patrick Dillon and Carl M. Cannon

Fortune’s Fool: Edgar Bronfman, Jr., Warner Music, and an Industry in Crisis by Fred Goodman

Union Atlantic: A Novel by Adam Haslett

The Art of Choosing by Sheena Iyengar

The Lords of Strategy: The Secret Intellectual History of the New Corporate World by Walter Kiechel

The Facebook Effect: The Inside Story of the Company That Is Connecting the World by David Kirkpatrick

The Big Short: Inside the Doomsday Machine by Michael Lewis

More Money than God: Hedge Funds and the Making of a New Elite by Sebastian Mallaby

All the Devils Are Here: The Hidden History of the Financial Crisis by Bethany McLean and Joe Nocera

What Works: Success in Stressful Times by Hamish McRae

Fault Lines: How Hidden Fractures Still Threaten the World Economy by Raghuram Rajan

The Rational Optimist: How Prosperity Evolves by Matt Ridley

Too Big to Fail: The Inside Story of How Wall Street and Washington Fought to Save the Financial System – and Themselves by Andrew Ross Sorkin

MacroWikinomics: Rebooting Business and the World by Don Tapscott and Anthony Williams

A shortlist of up to six books determined by this year’s Award judging panel will be announced on 16th September. The overall winner of the 2010 Book Award will be announced at the Award Dinner in New York on 27th October 2010. The winning author will receive £30,000 (just over $47,000) and the other shortlisted authors will each receive £10,000 (almost $16,000).

The judging panel for the 2010 Award is:

• Lionel Barber, Editor, Financial Times
• Liaquat Ahamed, Author
• Helen Alexander, President, CBI
• Lynda Gratton, Professor of Management Practice, London Business School
• Mario Monti, President, Bocconi University, Honorary President of Bruegel
• Jorma Ollila, Chairman, Nokia; Chairman, Royal Dutch Shell plc
• Shriti Vadera, Adviser to the G20 Presidency, Korea


One Response to “Financial Times Best Business Book Of The Year Longlist Announced”

  1. […] here to see our earlier post on the long-listed […]

Comments are closed.