The Lost Man Booker Prize Announced

May 22, 2010

“In 1971, just two years after it began, the Booker Prize ceased to be awarded retrospectively and became, as it is today, a prize for the best novel in the year of publication. At the same time, the date on which the award was given moved from April to November. As a result of these changes, there was whole year’s gap when a wealth of fiction, published in1970, fell through the net. These books were simply never considered for the prize.

Ion Trewin, literary director of the Man Booker Prizes comments: ‘Our longlist demonstrates that 1970 was a remarkable year for fiction written in English. Recognition for these novels and the eventual winner is long overdue.'”

Click here to see the books longlisted for the prize.

The winner of the Lost Man Booker Prize is Troubles by J G Farrell.

The other books shortlisted for the prize were:

The Birds on the Trees by Nina Bawden
The Bay of Noon by Shirley Hazzard
Fire From Heaven by Mary Renault
The Vivisector by Patrick White
The Driver’s Seat by Muriel Spark

Check out The Guardian’s article on the shortlisted books with reviews by six authors for their favorite to win.