2010 Pulitzer Prize Winners Announced

April 13, 2010

For most recipients of the Pulitzer Prizes, the cash award ($10,000) is only incidental to the prestige accruing to them and their works. There are numerous competitions that bestow far larger cash awards, yet which do not rank in public perception on a level with the Pulitzers.

For distinguished fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life the winner is: Tinkers by Paul Harding.
The finalists were:
Love In Infant Monkeys by Lydia Millet and
In Other Rooms, Other Wonders by Daniel Mueenuddin

For a distinguished and appropriately documented book on the history of the United States the winner is: Lords of Finance: The Bankers Who Broke the World by Liaquat Ahamed.
The finalists were:
Fordlandia: The Rise and Fall of Henry Ford’s Forgotten Jungle City by Greg Grandin and
Empire of Liberty: A History of the Early Republic, 1789-1815 by Gordon S. Wood

For a distinguished and appropriately documented biography or autobiography by an American author the winner is: The First Tycoon: The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt by T.J Stiles.
The finalists were:
Cheever: A Life by Blake Bailey and
Woodrow Wilson: A Biography by John Milton Cooper Jr.

For a distinguished and appropriately documented book of nonfiction by an American author that is not eligible for consideration in any other category the winner is: The Dead Hand: The Untold Story of the Cold War Arms Race and Its Dangerous Legacy by David E. Hoffman.
The finalists were:
How Markets Fail: The Logic of Economic Calamities,” by John Cassidy and
The Evolution of God,” by Robert Wright