The 2010 International Impac Dublin Literary Award Shortlist Announced

April 12, 2010

The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award is the world’s most prestigious (not to mention most lucrative with a prize of €100,000 or approximately $136,000)  literary prize.  The Award is managed by Dublin City Libraries, on behalf of Dublin City Council. It is sponsored by IMPAC, an international management productivity company with its European headquarters in Dublin.

The Award is presented annually with the objective of promoting excellence in world literature. It is open to novels written in any language and by authors of any nationality, provided the work has been published in English or English translation. The shortlist of 8 titles was selected from a total of 156 novels nominated by 163 public library systems in 123 cities worldwide. Click here to see a copy of Fiction Matters, the newsletter of the IMPAC Dublin Award including the list of nominated novels.

The short listed titles are:

1. The Twin by Gerbrand Bakker (Dutch)

2. The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery (Moroccan / French)

3.  In Zodiac Light by Robert Edric (British)

4. Settlement by Christoph Hein (German)

5. The Believers by Zoë Heller (British).

6. Netherland by Joseph O’Neill (Irish)

7. God’s Own Country by Ross Raisin (British)

8. Home by Marilynne Robinson (American)

* Two of the shortlisted titles are first novels, The Twin by Gerbrand Bakker and God’s Own Country by Ross Raisin.

* The 2010 shortlist is a real mix of books. Some of them are very well known and have already received awards, e.g. Marilynne Robinson received the Orange Prize for Home, Joseph O’Neill’s Netherland was long listed for the Man Booker Prize in 2008; two are first novels, and one, Settlement by Christoph Hein, published in the USA, has not previously been seen in the bookshops in Ireland and so will gain a new audience.