Costa Book Awards Category Winners Announced

January 10, 2010

The Costa Book Awards were previously known as the Whitbread Literary Awards but they still recognize the most enjoyable books published during the past year by writers living in the U.K. and Ireland. The Costa Book Awards is unique in many ways, not least in having five categories: First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book. The winner in each category receives £5,000. One of these five books is selected as the overall winner of the Book of the Year and receives a further £25,000, making a total prize fund of £30,000.   It is the only prize which places children’s books alongside adult books in this way. The 2009 Costa Book of the Year will be announced January 26 at an awards ceremony in London.

The winner of the Novel category is Brooklyn by Colm Toibin.
Other contenders in the Novel category were:
Family Album
by Penelope Lively
Wolf Hall
by Hilary Mantel
The Elephant Keeper by Christopher Nicholson

The winners of each category are available here. The complete Costa Book Awards shortlist is available here. Most of the shortlisted books are not yet available in the U.S.–but watch for many of them to arrive in the coming months.