National Book Award Winners Announced

November 19, 2009

The winners of the 2009 National Book Awards were announced yesterday. Let The Great World Spin by Colum McCann won in the Fiction category and The First Tycoon: The Epic Life Of Cornelius Vanderbilt by T.J. Stiles won in the Non-Fiction category.

Philip Hoose’s Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice won in the Young people’s Literature category and Transcendental Studies: A Trilogy by Keith Waldrop won in the Poetry category.

Click here to see the finalists for fiction and non-fiction and click here to see the finalists for young people’s literature and poetry.