2009 Macavity Awards Announced

November 6, 2009

The Macavity Award is named for the “mystery cat” of T.S. Eliot (Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats). Each year the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries in four categories for books published in the previous year.

Best Mystery Novel Winner: Where Memories Lie by Deborah Crombie

Trigger City by Sean Chercover
The Dying Breed (UK) / The Price of Blood (US) by Declan Hughes
The Draining Lake by Arnaldur Indridason
Curse of the Spellmans by Lisa Lutz
The Cruelest Month by Louise Penny
The Fault Tree by Louise Ure

Best First Mystery: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

Finding Nouf by Zoe Ferraris
Death of a Cozy Writer by G.M. Malliet
Calumet City by Charlie Newton
An Innocent Client by Scott Pratt
A Carrion Death by Michael Stanley
The Blood Detective by Dan Waddell