National Book Award Finalists Announced, Fiction and Non-Fiction

October 22, 2009

The National Book Awards was begun in 1950 by a consortium of publishing groups whose goal was to enhance the public’s awareness of exceptional books written by fellow Americans, and to increase the popularity of reading in general. The National Book Awards have become the nation’s preeminent literary prizes with Awards given to recognize achievements in four genres: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature. The Winners, to be announced on November 18th, are selected by five-member, independent judging panels for each genre, and receive a $10,000 cash award and a crystal sculpture.

Finalists in Fiction:
American Salvage by Bonnie Jo Campbell
Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann
In Other Rooms, Other Wonders by Daniyal Mueenuddin
Lark and Termite by Jayne Anne Phillips
Far North by Marcel Theroux

Finalists in Non-Fiction:
Following the Water: A Hydromancer’s Notebook by David M. Carroll
Remarkable Creatures: Epic Adventures in the Search for the Origins of Species by Sean B. Carroll
Fordlandia: The Rise and Fall of Henry Ford’s Forgotten Jungle City by Greg Grandin
The Poison King: The Life and Legend of Mithradates, Rome’s Deadliest Enemy by Adrienne Mayor
The First Tycoon: The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt by T. J. Stiles


One Response to “National Book Award Finalists Announced, Fiction and Non-Fiction”

  1. […] here to see the finalists for fiction and non-fiction and click here to see the finalists for young […]

Comments are closed.