2009 BBC Samuel Johnson Prize For Non-Fiction

August 17, 2009

What are the best non-fiction books this year according to the Brits? The BBC Samuel Johnson Prize judges chose Leviathan by Philip Hoare out of a longlist of 19 books as this year’s winner. Mr. Hoare will take home £20,000 (US$30,413) for the honor. Leviathan and a handful of the contenders haven’t been released in the US –watch for their release in the coming months. In the meantime, check out the ones which have been released here already, some with slightly different titles.

Lords Of Finance by Liaquat Ahamed

Soul Of The Age: the life, mind and world of William Shakespeare by Jonathan Bate

Pompeii by Mary Beard

A Fork In The Road by Andre Brink

The Pleasures And Sorrows Of Work by Alain De Botton

Science: a four thousand year history by Patricia Fara

Bad Science by Ben Goldacre

The Lost City Of Z by David Grann

The Age Of Wonder: how the romantic generation discovered the beauty and terror of science by Richard Holmes

A Strange Eventful History: the dramatic lives of Ellen Terry, Henry Irving and their remarkable families byMichael Holroyd

Darwin’s Island by Steve Jones

Quantum: Einstein, Bohr and the great debate about the nature of reality by Manjit Kumar

The Man Who Invented History by Justin Marozzi

Hester: the remarkable life of Dr Johnson’s ‘Dear Mistress’ by Ian McIntyre

A Book Of Silence by Sara Maitland

Sissinghurst: an unfinished history by Adam Nicolson

The Wisdom Of Whores by Elizabeth Pisani

The House Of Wittgenstein by Alexander Waugh