2009 Thurber Prize Nominees For Funniest Book Announced

August 13, 2009

Janes Thurber

Janes Thurber

The Thurber Prize for American Humor is conferred upon the author and publisher of the outstanding book of humor writing published in the United States between January 1, 2008 and December 31, 2008. Initiated in 1996, thirty-five years after the death of James Thurber who was a key figure in the development of American humor, it is the nation’s highest recognition of the art of humor writing. The award includes a $5,000 prize and a commemorative crystal plaque. The winner will be announced on October 1st.

This year’s nominees, as announced by The Associated Press, are:

Lamentations of the Father by Ian Frazier

I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley

Wrack and Ruin by Don Lee

The Idiot Girl and the Flaming Tantrum of Death by Laurie Notaro