Man Booker Longlist Announced

August 9, 2009

The Man Booker Prize is the self-proclaimed leading literary award in the English speaking world. Any full-length novel, written by a citizen of the British Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland and published this year, is eligible for the prize. The novel must be an original work in English (not a translation) and must not be self-published. The Prize is worth £50,000 to the winner. The short list for the Prize will be announced on September 8th and the winner will be announced on October 6th. Winners of the Prize are guaranteed to have higher sales of their book in both hardcover and paperback. The White Tiger, by Aravind Adiga, won the 2008 Prize and now has sold more than half a million copies and been translated in to 39 languages.

Here is the longlist for 2009:

The Children’s Book by A.S. Byatt
Summertime by J. M. Coetzee  (not yet released)
The Quickening Maze by Adam Foulds  (not yet released in the US)
How to Paint a Dead Man by Sarah Hall  (to be released in the US on 9/8/09)
The Wilderness by Samantha Harvey
Me Cheeta by James Lever
Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel   (to be released in the US on 10/13/09)
The Glass Room by Simon Mawer   (not yet released in the US)
Not Untrue & Not Unkind by Ed O’Loughlin    (to be released in the US in April, 2010)
Heliopolis by James Scudamore   (not yet released in the US)
Brooklyn by Colm Toibin
Love and Summer by William Trevor
The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters