Short List For Best Women Writers Prize Announced

April 28, 2009

The Orange Prize was initiated to encourage the development of reading of wonderful writing by women authors. Click here for a list of past shortlisted and winning authors of the Orange Prize For Fiction. The 2009 Prize winner will receive £30,000 (US$43,701) and will be announced on June 3rd.

The Orange Prize for Fiction is awarded to the woman who, in the opinion of the judges, has written the best, eligible full-length novel in English. The prize is open to any full length novel, written in English by a woman of any nationality, provided that the novel is published for the first time in the United Kingdom between 1 April of the year before the prize is awarded and 31 March of the year in which the prize is awarded. Although the novel’s first UK publication must fall within these dates, it’s still eligible if it was previously published in English elsewhere. Enough of the rules, let’s go to the goods.

The 2009 finalists are:
Scottsboro by Ellen Feldman
The Wilderness by Samantha Harvey
The Invention of Everything Else by Samantha Hunt
Molly Fox’s Birthday by Deidre Madden
Home by Marilynne Robinson
Burnt Shadows by Kamila Shamsie

Below are the books that didn’t make it to the Short List–they’re all great reads as well:

The Household Guide to Dying by Debra Adelaide

Girl in a Blue Dress by Gaynor Arnold

Their Finest Hour and a Half by Lissa Evans

Blonde Roots by Bernardine Evaristo

Strange Music by Laura Fish

Love Marriage by V.V. Ganeshananthan

Intuition by Allegra Goodman

The Lost Dog by Michelle de Kretser

A Mercy by Toni Morrison

The Russian Dreambook of Colour and Flight by Gina Ochsner

Evening is the Whole Day by Preeta Samarasan

American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld

The Flying Troutmans by Miriam Toews

The Personal History of Rachel DuPree by Ann Weisgarber


One Response to “Short List For Best Women Writers Prize Announced”

  1. thanks for sharing this one!

Comments are closed.