Lincoln Prize Winners Announced

February 19, 2009

Two books will share the 2009 Lincoln Prize which is awarded by the Lincoln and Soldiers Institute at Gettysburg College for “the finest scholarly work in English on Abraham Lincoln or the American Civil War soldier or a subject relating to their era.”

James McPherson’s Tried by War: Abraham Lincoln as Commander in Chief and Lincoln and His Admirals: Abraham Lincoln, the U.S. Navy and the Civil War by Craig L. Symonds will share the prize. Each author will receive $25,000. McPherson also won the Lincoln Prize in 1998 for his book: For Cause and Comrades: Why Men Fought in the Civil War.