Dublin Prize Announced

June 12, 2008

The long-awaited announcement of this year’s Dublin Prize is finally here. The winner is De Niro’s Game by Rawi Hage. Hage beat out 136 other authors to win the 100,000 euro prize. See the longlist titles here and the shortlist titles here.

“De Niro’s Game is told through the eyes of Bassam, as he grows up with his childhood friend George, in war-ravaged Beirut. As the young men reach adulthood they must choose their futures: to stay in the city and embrace a life of crime or go into exile abroad, alienated from the only existence they have known.”

Previous winners of the prestigious award include:
Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson (2007) and The Master by Colm Tóibín (2006)