Finalists Announced For The 2008 Carnegie Medal

April 22, 2008

The United Kingdom’s oldest and most prestigious children’s book award is the Carnegie Medal. Similar to our Newberry Award and named for Andrew Carnegie, (the man responsible for building many outstanding libraries in the U.S.) it is selected by children’s librarians for an outstanding book for children. Here are the seven finalists for the 2008 Award:

Crusade by Elizabeth Laird

Apache by Tanya Landeman

Here Lies Arthur by Philip Reeve

Ruby Red by Linzi Glass

Gatty’s Tale by Kevin Crossley-Holland

What I Was by Meg Rosoff

Finding Violet Park by Jenny Valentine

The winner will be announced during a ceremony at the British Library on June 26.

See all the past winners here.