Barnes & Noble Great New Writers Awards

February 5, 2008

Every year a group of Barnes & Noble booksellers get together and select the best new works by debuting authors based solely on literary merit. Later on, a group of literary jurists select two of these authors (one for fiction, one for non-fiction) as the winners of the Discover Award. The winners will be announced on Wednesday, February 27. Winners in each category receive a $10,000 prize and a year of addition promotion at B&N. Second-place finalists win $5,000; third-place finalists $2,500. Not surprisingly, some of these books have also been nominated for other literary awards indicating, perhaps,that these talented authors will be around for some time to come. The finalists for Barnes & Noble’s 2007 Discover Great New Writers Awards are:

Matthew Eck, author of The Farther Shore
Joshua Ferris, author of Then We Came to the End
Vendela Vida, author of Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name

    Kate Braestrup, author of Here If You Need Me: A True Story
    Elizabeth D. Samet, author of Soldier’s Heart: Reading Literature Through Peace and War at West Point
    Yaroslav Trofimov, author of The Siege of Mecca: The Forgotten Uprising in Islam’s Holiest Shrine and the Birth of Al Qaeda