Children’s Book Awards Announced

January 16, 2008

Some of the most important and prestigious awards for children’s literature were announced Tuesday at the annual mid-winter conference of the American Library Association. The Caldecott Medal (for most distinguished picture book for children) was awarded to The Invention Of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick.

Caldecott Honor Books were:

Henry’s Freedom Box: A True Story From the Underground Railroad, illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Ellen Levine;

First the Egg, by Laura Vaccaro Seeger;

The Wall: Growing Up Behind the Iron Curtain, by Peter Sis and

Knuffle Bunny Too: A Case of Mistaken Identity, by Mo Willems.

Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices From a Medieval Village, written by Laura Amy Schlitz, won the Newberry Medal which honors the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature.

Newberry Honor Books were:

Elijah of Buxton by Christopher Paul Curtis

The Wednesday Wars by Gary D. Schmidt

Feathers by Jacqueline Woodson