2007 Pulitzers Awarded

April 17, 2007

The formal announcement of the Pulitzer Prizes, made each April, states that the awards are made by the president of Columbia University on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize board. This formulation is derived from the Pulitzer will, which established Columbia as the seat of the administration of the prizes. Today, in fact, the independent board makes all the decisions relative to the prizes. In his will Pulitzer bestowed an endowment on Columbia of $2,000,000 for the establishment of a School of Journalism, one-fourth of which was to be “applied to prizes or scholarships for the encouragement of public, service, public morals, American literature, and the advancement of education.”

The winner of the 2007 Pulitzer Award for Fiction is “The Road” by Cormac McCarthy; for History: “The Race Beat” by Gene Roberts and Hank Kilbanoff; for Biography: “The Most Famous Man In America” by Debby Applegate; for General Non-Fiction: “The Looming Tower” by Lawrence Wright; and for Poetry: “Native Guard” by Natasha Trethewey.