More Mystery Awards

February 25, 2007

The Agatha Awards are given out for books published in the US which honor the traditional mystery-typified by Agatha Christie. The awards are sponsored by Malice Domestic and are voted on by Malice Domestic members. Awards will be given out this year at their convention in Washington, DC–May 4-6. Nominated for best novel for 2006 are: “All Mortal Flesh” by Julia Spencer Fleming; “Messenger Of Truth” by Jacqueline Winspear; “The Saddlemaker’s Wife” by Earlene Fowler; “The Virgin Of Small Plains” by Nancy Pickard and “Why Casey Had To Die” by L.C. Hayden.

Books nominated for best first novel are: “Consigned To Death” by Jane Cleland; “Feint Of Art” by Hailey Lind; “Murder On The Rocks” by Karen MacInerney; “The Chef Who Died Sauteing” by Susan Smily and Honora Finkelstein and “The Heat Of The Moon” by Sandra Parshall.