What’s Your Favorite?

December 19, 2006

There are many books awards given out over the year with selections made by a variety of judges and panels. Many of those highly-regarded books don’t necessarily find themselves on the best-seller lists which suggests that the book-buying public thinks differently about what makes a good book–assuming one you’d buy is one you’d like. So what we want to know is, what was your favorite book published in 2006? To be honest, I don’t have one this year. But I don’t have a favorite color either so you can write me off as undecided or wishy-washy. I have high hopes for some that I haven’t had a chance to read yet like The Emperor’s Children by Claire Messud. I enjoyed Apex Hides The Hurt by Colson Whitehead and Old Filth by Jane Gardam as far as fiction goes–which remindes me that I should read more non-fiction since there were many choices there this year including The Ghost Map by Steven Johnson and Uncommon Carriers by John McPhee.

Let us know what your favorites are for 2006. To leave a comment just click on the  “no comments” button below the book graphics, type your comment in the text box that appears and then click “submit comment” when you’re done.

One Response to “What’s Your Favorite?”

  1. Jim Childress Says:

    War of the World by Niall Ferguson – it is longer than his book Empire but worth reading and equally as relevent in helping understand our current foreign policies.

Comments are closed.