National Book Award Winners Announced

November 17, 2006

The 2006 National Book Awards were given out Wednesday, November 15th at a ceremony in New York City. These awards, begun in 1950, recognize books of exceptional merit written by Americans. The Echo Maker by Richard Powers won for Fiction. The other nominees in Fiction were: Only Revolutions by Mark Z. Danielewski; A Disorder Peculiar To The Country by Ken Kalfus; Eat The Document by Dana Spiotta and The Zero by Jess Walter.

The Worst Hard Time by Timothy Egan won for Non-Fiction. Other nominees for Non-Fiction were: At Canaan’s Edge by Taylor Branch; Imperial Life In The Emerald City by Rajiv Chandrasekaran; Oracle Bones by Peter Hessler and The Looming Tower by Lawrence Wright.